Audrey Hepburn

Copyright © AFP / 20th Century Fox / The Kobal Collection – Audrey Hepburn

Одри Хепберн – это воплощение элегантности и женственности, а также она создала столь желанный и неподвластный времени ‘стиль Одри Хепберн’. Одри родилась в 1929 году в Бельгии, в семье отца британца и матери голландского происхождения. Дество Одри прошло между Великобританией и Нидерландами. Тем не менее, в 1939 году, из-за Второй мировой войны, Одри была вынуждена покинуть школу-интернат в Англии и вернуться к своей семье в Голландию.

С раннего возраста, Одри интересовалась балетом, и в течение трёх лет училась у Сони Гаскелл, но в связи с войной, её тело стало слишком слабым, чтобы продолжать заниматься балетом, и она начала заниматься актёрским мастерством. После удивительного успеха «Gigi» на Бродвее в Нью-Йорке, Одри стала центром внимания своей первой главной роли принцессы Анны в фильме «Roman Holiday», за который она получила премию Оскар за лучшую женскую роль.

Именно этот фильм сделал её культовой фигурой, а также, она была признанным эталоном красотом. Прошло десятилетие сексуальной привлекательности, а на смену пришла мягкая женственность и элегантный силуэт. Глаза, как у лани, безупречный фарфоровый цвет лица и розовые губы стали новым трендом.

Когда идет речь об Одри Хепберн, нельзя не упомянуть о её пятидесяти лет дружбы с модельером того времени, Юбером де Живанши. Они встретились во время съёмок её второго фильма «Sabrina», когда она заинтересовалась его костюмами. Вскоре, они начали сотрудничать. Одри часто являлась его музой и вдохновением для его новых коллекций. Вместе, они создали эксклюзивную коллекцию Audrey Hepburn Look, в которую были влюблены все женщины мира.

“Я верю в маникюр. Я верю в перебор одежды. Я верю в накрашенные губы на пляже. Я верю в розовый. Я считаю, что счастливые девушки самые красивые. Я уверена, что завтра будет другой день, и … Я верю в чудеса”.

Тем не менее, появился фильм, который полностью поднял её на вершину карьеры и сделал её одной из самых известных и стильных женщин в мире. Фильм Трумена Капоте – «Breakfast at Tiffany’s». Костюмы из фильма создали уникальный стиль Одри Хепберн. Маленькое чёрное платье, большие чёрные очки и жемчужное ожерелье стали символом женственности и шикарного очарования, которым Одри стремилась поделиться с женщинами. “Мой стиль доступный. Женщины могли бы выглядеть, как Одри Хепберн”.

В то время, когда создавался гламурный образ Холли Голайтли,  платье Одри Хепберн вырожало её элегантный и утончённый характер, сохраняя при этом шикарную уникальность. Простые брюки капри, женственные блузки и шёлковый шарф стали основами её имиджа, всегда сочетая аксессуарами, танкеткой и ‘кошачьими’ очками. Классические цвета чёрный и белый были выбором для большинства её нарядов, а также ювелирные серьги, которые позволяли придерживаться простоты.

Наряду с её статусом одной из самых стильных и элегантных женщин мира, Одри Хепберн была также известна за её гуманитарную деятельность. В 1988 году, она была назначена послом ЮНИСЕФ, в знак признания её вклада в гуманитарные проблемы. Она целиком посвятила себя детям в бедных странах.

Одри стала неотъемлемой частью моды, и по-прежнему оказывает влияние на модную индустрию. Она олицетворяет скромность и изящность, которые всегда будут ассоциироваться с ней.

Sabina Rouse

Автор Sabina Rouse

Sabina Rouse, current English Literature student at the University of Reading in her second year. She enjoys writing for the Fashion and Beauty sections of the University Newspaper Spark* in addition to contributing to the online magazine Lust and Found. Sabina writes for the Biographies section of Catwalk Yourself.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Audrey Hepburn

Copyright © AFP / 20th Century Fox / The Kobal Collection – Audrey Hepburn

Audrey Hepburn, the epitome of elegance, femininity and the creator of the much desired, timeless ‘Audrey Hepburn Look’. Born in 1929 in Belgium to a British father and Dutch Aristocrat mother, Audrey grew up multi-lingual and well travelled between Britain and the Netherlands. However, in 1939 the Second World War forced Audrey from her boarding school in England back to her family in Holland.

Since a young age Audrey had shown a delight in ballet and for three years studied with Sonia Gaskell, but the hardship of war-time life rendered her body too weak to continue, and forced her to turn to another of her passions; acting. After the amazing success of “Gigi” on Broadway in New York, Audrey was thrown into the spotlight in her first starring role as Princess Anne in the film “Roman Holiday”, for which she won an Academy Award for Best Actress.

It was this film that propelled her into becoming an iconic figure and set a new (and previously unseen) standard of beauty – gone was the voluptuousness and overt sex appeal of the decade and in was the soft femininity and waif like, elegant silhouette. Big doe-like eyes, a flawless porcelain complexion and rose stained lips became the new fashion.

When talking about Audrey Hepburn, it is impossible not to mention her fifty-year friendship with up and coming fashion designer of the time, Hubert de Givenchy. It was during her second film “Sabrina” that Audrey and Hubert met, as she had shown interest in having him design the costumes. They soon formed a loyal partnership, with Audrey often being his muse and inspiration for designs. They collaborated together and created the exclusive ‘Audrey Hepburn Look’, which women all over the world fell in love with.

I believe in manicures. I believe in overdressing. I believe in primping at leisure and wearing lipstick. I believe in pink. I believe happy girls are the prettiest girls. I believe that tomorrow is another day, and… I believe in miracles.

Nevertheless, there was to be one film that would define her career, and identify her as one of the most renowned and stylish women in the world; Truman Capote’s “Breakfast at Tiffany’s”. It was the costumes in “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” that helped to create the unique ‘Audrey Hepburn Look’. The little black dress, oversized sunglasses and statement pearl necklace all held a womanly and chic charm, one that Audrey was keen to share with women; ‘My look is attainable. Women can look like Audrey Hepburn.’

Whilst creating and owning the Holly Golightly glamour look, Audrey Hepburn’s own personal dress sense encapsulated her elegant and sophisticated character, whilst maintaining a chic uniqueness. Simple Capri pants, feminine blouses and a silk scarf were the essentials of her look, always accessorized by a pair of flats and cat eye sunglasses. Classic colours of black and white were the choice for the majority of outfits, whilst keeping jewellery to a pair of statement earrings; she let the simplicity and chic character of her outfit stand out.

Apart from retaining her status as one of the most stylish and elegant women in the world, Audrey Hepburn was also renowned for her humanitarian work. In 1988 she was appointed a Goodwill Ambassador for Unicef in recognition for her contribution to humanitarian causes, as she had devoted herself wholly to helping children in poverty stricken countries.

Audrey played an integral part as a fashion icon in her lifetime, and still does today. She introduced modesty and grace into fashion, a style that has become timeless and will always be associated with her.

Sabina Rouse

Written by Sabina Rouse

Sabina Rouse, current English Literature student at the University of Reading in her second year. She enjoys writing for the Fashion and Beauty sections of the University Newspaper Spark* in addition to contributing to the online magazine Lust and Found. Sabina writes for the Biographies section of Catwalk Yourself.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>