Annie Leibovitz

Энни Лейбовиц родилась под именем Анна-Лу Лейбовиц, в октябре 1949 года в Вестбури, штат Коннектикут.

В 1967 году она поступила в художественный институт Сан-Франциско, где училась живописи до перехода на курс фотографии. Она жила на израильском кибуце в течение некоторого времени, прежде чем вернулась в США в 1970 году, где начала работать в  журнале Rolling Stone. Впечатленный её портфолио, главный редактор Янн Веннер предложил ей работу в качестве фотографа. Через два года, её повысили до главного фотографа, которым она оставалась в течение следующих 10 лет. Её работа в журнале дала ей возможность путешествовать с Rolling Stones в  международном турне 1975 года.

В во время работы с журналом Rolling Stone, Лейбовиц устраивала фотосессии с яркими цветами и просила моделей делать удивительные позы, чтобы разнообразить свои проекты. Веннер приписано множесто обложек Rolling Stone, включая знаменитый снимок обнаженного Джона Леннона и его полностью одетой жены Йоко Оно, который был сделан 8 декабря 1980 года, всего за несколько часов до смерти Леннона.

Веннер покинула журнал Rolling Stone в 1983 году, и вместо этого начала работать в Vanity Fair. На сегодняшний день, большее количество обложек журнала сделаны Лейбовиц, в основном это портреты знаменитостей.

В конце 1980-х годов Лейбовиц работала над рядом громких рекламных кампаний. За рекламную кампанию American Express Membership, в которой она сняла Элмор Леонард, Тома Селлек и Паваротти в 1987 году, она была удостоена награды Clio.

В 1991 году её коллекция из более чем 200 цветных и чёрно-белых фотографий была показана на выставке в Национальной портретной галерее Вашингтона, округ Колумбия. В том же году была опубликована книга Photographs: Annie Leibovitz 1970-1999.

Шесть лет спустя, она была выбрана в качестве официального фотографа летних Олимпийских игр в Атланте. Её чёрно-белые портреты американских спортсменов, с участием Карла Левисанда и Майкла Джонсона, были опубликованы в книге Olympic Portraits

“Иногда, я нахожу внешность интересной. Я не могу сказать, что получится шедевр, вкладывая душу в каждый портрет, но это просто невозможно всё время.”

В 1999 году она опубликовала книгу Women, представляющую широкий спектр женщин, начиная от судей Верховного суда, и заканчивая танцовщицами из Лас-Вегасе Showgirls и простыми фермерами.

В 2005 году Бруклинский музей искусств сделал выставку её работ, под названием Annie Leibovitz: A Photographer’s Life, 1990-2005.

Marine Lazarus

Автор Marine Lazarus

Marine Lazarus, an Anglo-French photographer who moved to UK 3 years ago to study journalism at Brunel University in London. Marine is responsible for our Photographers Biographies section.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Annie Leibovitz

Annie Leibovitz was born Anna-Lou Leibovitz in October 1949 in Westbury, Connecticut.

In 1967, she enrolled at the San Francisco Art Institute to study painting before shifting to photography. She lived on an Israeli kibbutz for some while before returning to the USA in 1970 where she began working for the then up-coming magazine Rolling Stone. Impressed with Leibovitz’s portfolio, Editor Jann Wenner offered her a job as a staff photographer. Within two years, she was promoted to chief photographer which she stayed for the next 10 years. Her position with the magazine gave her the opportunity to travel with the Rolling Stones on their 1975 international tour.

Whilst working with Rolling Stone Magazine, Leibovitz imagined photo-shoots with bright colours and started asking her models to do surprising poses, developing what would become her trademark techniques. Wenner credited her with making many Rolling Stone covers collector items, most notably an issue that featured a nude John Lennon and his fully clothed wife Yoko Ono – a picture taken on December 8 1980, just a few hours before Lennon’s death.

She left Rolling Stone Magazine in 1983 and began working for Vanity Fair instead. To date, a number of the magazine’s covers featured Leibovitz portraits of celebrities, with some being sometimes considered as very controversial.

In the late 1980s Leibovitz started to work on a number of high-profile advertising campaigns. Notably for the American Express Membership campaign for which she shot Elmore Leonard, Tom Selleck and Pavarotti, amongst others, and for which she was awarded a 1987 Clio Award.

In 1991 her collection of over 200 color and black-and-white photographs were shown to the public in an exhibition at the National Portrait Gallery in Washington D.C. Later that year, a book was published to accompany the show titled “Photographs: Annie Leibovitz 1970-1990”.

Six years later she was chosen as the official photographer of the Summer Olympics in Atlanta. Her black and white portraits of American athletes featuring Carl Lewisand and Michael Johnson amongst others were published in the book “Olympic Portraits”.

“I sometimes find the surface interesting. To say that the mark of a good portrait is whether you get them or get the soul – I don’t think this is possible all of the time.”

In 1999 she published the book “Women” representing a wide range of women from Supreme Court Justices to Vegas Showgirls, to coal miners and farmers.

The Brooklyn Museum of Art did a retrospective on her work entitled “Annie Leibovitz: A Photographer’s Life, 1990-2005.” in 2005.

Marine Lazarus

Written by Marine Lazarus

Marine Lazarus, an Anglo-French photographer who moved to UK 3 years ago to study journalism at Brunel University in London. Marine is responsible for our Photographers Biographies section.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>