Anna Wintour

Что вы можете сказать о женщине, которая была первой, кто привлекла внимание мировой общественности к Alexander McQueen, John Galliano и Zac Posen? Начнём с самого начала….

Важно отметить, что Анна Винтур не является иконой стиля. Анна Винтур и есть мода. Являясь лидером в мире моды, её решительный характер и точность к деталям, сделало Vogue самым успешным модным журналом в мире. Оспаривая то, что она становиться менее популярной, время от времени, она всё ещё является человеком, который принёс нам некоторых из самых знаменитых дизайнеров современности.

Анна родилась 3 ноября 1949 года в Лондоне. Её отец – Чарльз Винтур, редактор газеты The Evening Standard. Ещё будучи подростком, она интересовалась модой. Она всегда считалась упрямым подростком, а в школе даже обрезала подол школьной юбки, так как считала юбку слишком длинной.

Анна была в восторге от моды 60-х годов, и это, несомненно, повлияло на её обширные знания о моде и чувство стиля. Её карьера началась в 1970 году в Harpers Bazaar (Великобритания), до того момента, пока она не переехала в Америку, чтобы продолжить работать в Harpers Bazaar, но уже младшим редактором моды. Она была уволена 9 месяцев спустя, за её слишком её слишком провокационные статьи.

Британский Vogue был компанией её мечты, на которую Анна всегда мечтала работать, и, наконец, в 1988 году, после многих лет мечтаний, она получила работу в Vogue. Первый раз, её работа была опубликована в 1988 году, и включала модель Микаэлу Берку в джинсах и майке от Christian Lacroix, украшенную драгоценными камнями, которая стоила $10.000. Она сразу же изменила направление журнала, уделяя больше внимание молодому поколению.

Что насчёт Анны, так её отличительным ‘знаком’ были большие чёрные очки и стрижка боб, что было признано стилем Анны Винтур. Перед тем, как она стала королевой моды, у неё был стиль, в каком то роде, ‘нимфоманки’, она носила одежду знаменитых брендов с разными смешными принтами и рисунками. Но, её стиль изменился на более серьёзный, скорее всего, в связи с её позицией в мире моды.

Светлая и консервативная одежда, как правило, костюм от Chanel или кардиган, накинутый на платье от Prada в качестве рабочей одежды Анны, с изящной ценой $200.000, вот что носил автор Vogue. Её очки стали более известными, так как они являлись чрезвычайно полезными, чтобы скрывать эмоций, которые только добавляют больше отчужденности к людям, которые находятся вне царства моды.

Она упорно трудилась, выдвигая на первый план Marc Jacobs, и помогала Джону Гальяно войти в дом моды Dior. Она критикует некоторых из самых бесценных дизайнеров по всему миру, что привело к таким прозвищам, как ‘Ядерная Винтур’, а также для неё очевидны частые перепады настроения.

Она всегда была человеком, который лучше всех хранил секреты, с точки зрения её управления в Vogue, где часто ходили разные слухи и сплетни. Она без всякого угрызения совести, могла заставить своих помощников рыться в горе мусора, чтобы найти именно тот снимок, который ей нравился.

На самом деле, она не такой монстр, как может показаться. В настоящее время она является членом совета музея Метрополитен института Costime, который занимается сбором средств для института, объединяя наиболее знаметных людей. В 2003 году, Vogue в партнёрстве с CFDA создали фонд моды. Благодаря этому фонду, Alexander Wang, Proenza Schouler и Thakoon также попали в модную индустрию. Помогать новым талантам и хранить исторический талант – стало частью Анны Винтур. Ques Fashion Night Out – ночь, когда тысячи магазинов по всему миру остаются открытыми до поздна, и позволяют людям собраться вместе и праздновать в честь величайшей индустрии моды.

Анна Винтур, загадка в глазах общественности, но и как человек, сидящий на вершине Vogue, она имеет место, за которое любой был бы готов убить. Тем не менее, она возглавляет Vogue более 20 лет, и не собирается останавливаться на этом.

Tobias Orrells

Автор Tobias Orrells

Tobias Orrells graduated from Liverpool John Moores University with a degree in International Journalism, however, steering away from news, has focused his creativity to reporting on the progression of men’s fashion. He is an avid writer and lover of fashion and music and combining the two helps create the icon profiles. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Anna Wintour

What can you say about the woman who was the first to bring the world’s attention on Alexander McQueen, John Galliano and Zac Posen? We’ll give it ago…

It is important to note at this point that Anna Wintour is not a fashion icon. Anna Wintour is fashion. As the leader of the Fashion World her decisive nature and precision to detail has led to Vogue becoming the most successful fashion magazine in the world. With controversy surrounding her less than fashionable personality at times, she still is the person that brought us some of today’s most celebrated designers.

Born on the 3rd of November, 1949 in London to Charles Wintour, the Editor of The Evening Standard and began her life with a open eye on the swift change fashion was about to succumb to. Even in her youth she was rebellious and stubborn when she shorten the hemline on her school skirts

Anna was fully encroached during the fashion overhaul of the 60s and it no doubt helped shape her in terms of her extensive knowledge and open sense of fashion. Her career began in 1970 at Harpers Bazzar UK before moving off to America to continue with Harpers Bazzar working as a Junior Fashion Editor. She was fired 9 months later for her too provocative fashion spreads, something which upset the future fashion queen.

British Vogue was Anna’s first taste of the company she would later covet, and finally in 1988, after years of dreaming, she got it. Anna’s first issue was in 1988 and featured model, Michaela Bercu wearing jeans (a first for Vogue) and a Christian Lacroix bejewelled T shirt worth $10,000. Her whirlwind change of the magazine began almost immediately focusing more youth into the magazine whilst imagining a business savvy women with a penchant for fashion.

Anna’s own style has become something of a status, donning her signature bob and black sunglasses she already creates the elusive, Anna Wintour look. Before her reign however, Anna was something of a style nympho, wearing an eclectic collection of high fashion sexy and wacky fun prints. This turned regal once she came to Vogue, perhaps due to her stance within the fashion industry, and her seriousness over her role.

The light, conservative attire, usually a Chanel suit or cardigan draped over a dress or a creation by Prada acts as a solution to Anna’s working, with a nifty $200,000 clothing allowance from Vogue’s publishers. Her sunglasses have become more famous than her glare with Wintour professing that they are extremely useful at hiding her emotions which only adds to Wintour’s overall alienation of people outside the fashion realm.

She has worked hard, bring to the forefront Marc Jacobs, who she champions along with John Galliano, helping him come into his own at Dior. She critiques some of the most invaluable designers across the fashion field and has lead to such nicknames as ‘Nuclear Wintour’ for her apparent mood swings.

She has always been fashions best kept secret in terms of her actual running of Vogue, with many rumours spawned from the corridors of the fashion bible. Events like an intern stepping over a fallen Wintour because she was not to be spoken to, to getting her assistants to fish through trash to look for that one photo she wanted.

She is however, not the total monster the press can make her out to be. She currently sits on the board of the Metropolitan Museum Costime Institute which raises funds for the Institute, bringing together some of the worlds most notable people. In 2003 Vogue partnered with the CFDA to created the Vogue Fashion Fund, a chance for Manhatten designers to get on the fashion ladder and has proved to be invaluable with the likes of Alexander Wang, Proenza Schouler and Thakoon all being past recipients. Helping emerging talent and keeping historical talent has become very much part of Anna Wintour’s legacy for the arts, but what about fashion as a business? Que Fashion’s Night Out, a night of splendour and sparkle as thousands of stores across the globe, stay open late allowing for fashion folk and consumers to come together and celebrate fashion.

Anna Wintour, an enigma in the public eye but as person perched on top of the Vogue Masthead, she holds a title and place where many would kill to be. Yet, she regains her post with over 20 years at Vogue, and as fashion’s Pied Piper, she shows no sign of slowing.

Tobias Orrells

Written by Tobias Orrells

Tobias Orrells graduated from Liverpool John Moores University with a degree in International Journalism, however, steering away from news, has focused his creativity to reporting on the progression of men’s fashion. He is an avid writer and lover of fashion and music and combining the two helps create the icon profiles. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>