Manish Arora

Место рождения: Мумбай, Индия

Manish Arora Designer Biography

Маниш Арора посещал Национальный институт моды в Нью-Дели. После окончания университета, Арора остался в Нью-Дели и начал развивать свой уникальный стиль. Он черпал вдохновение из своего окружения: природы Индии, музыки, культуры и людей. Здесь, он начал разрабатывать одежду смелых цветов с вышивкой и бисером.

В 1994 году, Арора занял второе место на конкурсе Smirnoff Fashion. В следующем году, Арора вновь занял второе место в конкурсе молодых азиатских дизайнеров.

Он также был награжден за самую оригинальную коллекцию. Его причудливый стиль и предыдущие награды привлекли внимание французского Vogue, который предложил ему работу. Тем не менее, Арора отклонил предложение, пожелав остаться в Индии, чтобы дальше развивать своё чувсто прекрасного.

В 1997 году, Арора запустил свой бренд и начал продажи в Индии. В 2000 году, он дебютировал на первой в истории Неделе моды в Нью-Дели, показав свои коллекции ready-to-wear.

В 2001 году, Арора создал диффузную коллекцию Fish Fry. В следующем году, он открыл свой первый магазин Manish Arora Fish Fry в Нью-Дели. Арора начал подниматься на международный уровень, и в 2004 году, начал сотрудничать с Reebok над линией современной спортивной одежды Fish Fry for Reebok.

 В 2005 году, Арора дебютировал на Неделе моды в Лондоне. Его сочетание модных тенденций и культуры имело успех, и привело к выставке в Музее Виктории и Альберта под названием Global Local, где его одежду называли Glocal – смесь культурных корней и глобализации.

К 2006 году, продукция Арора продавалась более, чем в 75 магазинах по всему миру. В следующем году, магазин Fish Fry for Reebok открылся в Нью-Дели, а в музее Виктории и Альберта состоялась выставка его коллекций с лондонской недели моды. Покорив Лондон, Арора дебютировал со своей коллекцией весна/лето’08 на Неделе моды в Париже, в 2007 году, что привело к большому успеху.

Арора расширил свой бизнес в 2008 году, добавив очки и открыв дополнительные магазины. Вместе с MAC, по всему миру, был выпущен ограниченный тираж косметики Manish Arora. В том же году, Кейт Мосс была замечена одетой в платье от Manish Arora для обложки сентябрьского Interview Magazine.

В 2009 году Бренд Арора объединился с SWATCH, создав ограниченный тираж часов. В 2010 году, Арора сотрудничал с Nivea, Absolut Vodka, Good Earth и 3 Suisses. В следующем году, Арора работал с мировыми брендами, включая Mercedes Benz и Swarovski Elements. К 2011 году, Арора достиг глобального статуса.

Бесчисленные знаменитости и иконы стиля выбирают одежду бренда, а также всё больше и больше компаний предлагают сотрудничество. В феврале этого года, Пако Рабанне был назначен креативным директором Арора. Дому моды не удалось показать коллекцию ready-to-wear, так как основатель покинул свою должномсть в 2006 году, и Арора дебютировал в октябре этого года.

Маниш Арора приветствует идею тенденций, но считает, что всё зависит от собственного стиля. Известный сложными и авангардными творениями, Arora используют яркие цвета и мотивы, в сочетании с традиционным индийским бисером и вышивкой.

Saxony Dudbridge

Автор Saxony Dudbridge

Saxony Dudbridge was one of the first contributors to the Catwalk Yourself project, Saxony studies International Fashion Marketing and she is responsible for our great History and Designers Biographies sections.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Manish Arora

Manish Arora biograhpy

Born: Mumbai, India

Manish Arora Designer Biography

Manish Arora attended New Delhi’s National Institute of Fashion Technology. After graduating, Arora stayed in New Delhi and began to develop his unique style. Taking inspiration from his surroundings; India’s nature, music, cultures and people all offered insight into Arora’s designs. Here he began to develop clothing with bold colour, personality, embroidery and appliqué beading.

In 1994 Arora won second prize in the Smirnoff Fashion Awards. The following year Arora again took second prize, in the Young Asian Designers Competition. He was also awarded the Most Original Collection.

His quirky aesthetic and recent accolades caught the attention of French Vogue, who offered him a job. However, Arora turned down the proposal, wishing to remain in India to develop his aesthetic further.

In 1997 Arora launched his label and started selling in India. In 2000 he debuted at the first ever India Fashion Week in New Delhi, showing his ready-to-wear collection.

In 2001 Arora launched Fish Fry, a diffusion label. The following year he opened his first flagship store, Manish Arora Fish Fry, in New Delhi.

Arora started to move internationally and in 2004 partnered with Reebok to create a line of contemporary sportswear under the name Fish Fry for Reebok.

In 2005 Arora debuted at London Fashion Week. His mix of current style and cultural features was a success and led to him featured in an exhibition at the Victoria and Albert Museum called ‘Global Local’. Here his clothes termed the name ‘Glocal’ – clothes that have a mixture of cultural roots, without ignoring globalization.

By 2006 Arora’s labels were stocked in over 75 stores worldwide. The following year First Fish for Reebok opened a concept store in New Delhi and the Victoria and Albert museum held a retrospective of his London Fashion Week collections.

Having conquered London, Arora debuted his spring/summer 2008 collection during Paris Fashion Week in 2007 to great success.

Arora expanded his business in 2008 adding eyewear to his label and opened up further stores. Together with MAC, a collaboration featuring limited edition Manish Arora cosmetics was launched globally. That same year, Kate Moss was seen dressed in a Manish Arora dress for the September cover of Interview Magazine.

Arora teamed up with SWATCH in 2009 creating a limited edition collection of watches. The year saw further collaborations with Nivea, Absolut Vodka, Good Earth and 3 Suisses. The next year saw Arora work with more brands including Mercedes Benz and Swarovski Elements.

By 2011 Arora had reached global status. Countless celebrities and fashion icons chose his clothes and further brands continued to offer collaborations. In February that year Arora was appointed Creative Director of Paco Rabanne. The house had failed to show a ready-to-wear collection since its founder left in 2006, Arora debuted the first collection since then, under his new role in October that year.

Manish Arora appreciates the idea of trends, but believes further in an individuals personality and own sense of style. Known for elaborate and avant-garde creations, Arora uses vivid colours and motifs, paired with traditional Indian beading and embroidery.

Manish Arora biograhpy

 

Saxony Dudbridge

Written by Saxony Dudbridge

Saxony Dudbridge was one of the first contributors to the Catwalk Yourself project, Saxony studies International Fashion Marketing and she is responsible for our great History and Designers Biographies sections.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>