Elle Macpherson

Fashion Model Biography Elle Macpherson

Copyright © AFP / Wmg / Austral.Film Finance / Br Screen / The Kobal Collection / McFarlane, Robert

Модель, актриса и предприниматель Эль Макферсон родилась в 1964 году в Сиднее (Австралия). Эль является одной из самых успешных моделей за всю историю, и находится в одном ряду с такими именами, как Наоми Кэмпбелл и Синди Кроуфорд.

Для того, чтобы платить за университет, Эль, в возрасте 17 лет, переехала в Нью-Йорк, чтобы работать в качестве модели, и первоначально подписала контракт с модельным агенством Click Model Management. Её модельная карьера началась с телевизионной рекламы Tab, которая прировняла её к статусу  “девушки по соседству”. К 1986 году она начала появляться на обложках многочисленных журналов моды, включая Cosmopolitan, Elle, GQ, Harpers Bazaar, Vogue и Playboy. Она также появилась на обложке журнала Time под названием The Big Elle.

После пяти рекордных появлений на обложке журнала Sports Illustrated, Эль получила титул The Body, который до сих пор принадлежит ей.

Эль появлялась в каждом выпуске журнала Elle в течение шести лет, что привело её к большому успеху и международной популярности. В возрасте 21 года она вышла замуж за Жиля Бензимона, креативного директора Elle (они развелись в 1989).

Эль продолжала набирать обороты, являлась одним из организаторов конкурса Мисс Вселенная в 2001 году, где также принимала участие Наоми Кэмпбел, а австралийское правительство даже предложило ей позицию в туристической комиссии, в качестве неофициального посла.

Имея предпринимательскую жилку, Эль начала использовать свой псевдоним The Body в качестве стартовой точки для открытия ряда предприятий. В 1994 году Эль покинула модельное агентство Ford Models, чтобы начать работать на её собственное агентство Elle Macpherson Inc, что оказалось очень прибыльным делом. Эль применила свой предпринимательский талант к ряду проектов, таких как серия календарей, коллекция нижнего белья под названием Elle Macpherson Intimates и линии косметики Elle Macpherson – The Body.

Наряду с поразительно успешной карьерой в качестве модели и предпринимателя, Эль также работала актрисой в нескольких фильмах. Она дебютировала в в фильме Sirens 1994 года, а также снималась в фильмах Вуди Алена Alice и Batman and Robin.

В июле 2010 года, Эль стала ведущей популярного реалити-шоу  Великобритании и Ирландии Next Top Model, она также исполнительный продюсер шоу. Последнее время, Эль посвящает много времени благотворительности, она является послом RED и ЮНИСЕФ.

У  Эль два сына от своего бывшего мужа, французского финансиста, Арпада Буссона. Сейчас она живёт в Англии с её сыновьями.

Roanna Price

Автор Roanna Price

Roanna Price, fascinated by the escapism, imagination and conversation that can be conjured in the glossy page of fashion writing. Journalism graduate in Liverpool Roanna is responsible for our Top Model Biographies section.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Elle Macpherson

Fashion Model Biography Elle Macpherson

Copyright © AFP / Wmg / Austral.Film Finance / Br Screen / The Kobal Collection / McFarlane, Robert

Elle Macpherson was born in 1964 in Sydney, Australia and is a model, actress and businesswoman. Elle is one of the most successful models of all time, and sits along other powerhouse names such as Naomi Campbell and Cindy Crawford as one of the original, fashion defining, supermodels.

In order to pay for her university studies Elle moved to New York, aged 17 to work as a model, she was initially signed by Click Model Management. In 1982 her modelling career began with a television commercial for Tab, which landed her ‘girl next door’ status. By 1986 she had appeared on the cover of numerous high profile magazines including, Cosmopolitan Elle, GQ, Harpers Bazaar, Vogue and Playboy. She also appeared on the cover of Time Magazine for a feature called ‘The Big Elle’.

After a record breaking five appearances on the cover of sports illustrated magazine Elle received the title ‘The Body’ which she still holds to this day.

Elle appeared in every issue of Elle magazine for six years, this was a huge testament to her successes and international popularity. At the age of 21 she married Gilles Bensimon, the creative director of Elle (they divorced in 1989).

Elle success continued to gain momentum, she co-hosted Miss Universe in 2001 alongside Naomi Campbell and the Australian government even offered her a position on its tourist commission as an unofficial ambassador.

In an entrepreneurial stroke of genius, Elle took her nickname ‘The Body’ and used it as a launch point for a series of business enterprises. In 1994 Elle left her agency, Ford Models, to work for her own agency Elle Macpherson inc, this turned out to be a highly lucrative move. Elle has applied her entrepreneurial flair to a range of projects from a series of calendars, a lingerie collection called ‘Elle Macpherson Intimates’ and a line of beauty products called ‘Elle Macpherson – The Body’.

Alongside a startlingly successful career as a model and businesswoman Elle has also worked as an actress in a string of films. She made her debut in the 1994 film Sirens and went on to star in more films such as Woody Allen’s ‘Alice’ and ‘Batman and Robin’.

In July 2010 Elle became the host of popular reality show, Britain and Ireland’s Next Top Model, she is also executive producer on the show. Recently Elle also dedicates a lot of her time to charitable work, she is an ambassador for RED and UNICEF.

Elle has two sons with her ex partner, French Financier, Arpad Busson. She now lives in England with her sons.

Roanna Price

Written by Roanna Price

Roanna Price, fascinated by the escapism, imagination and conversation that can be conjured in the glossy page of fashion writing. Journalism graduate in Liverpool Roanna is responsible for our Top Model Biographies section.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>