Beth Ditto

Copyright © AFP / Ekaterina Chesnokova / Ria Novosti – Beth Ditto

Beth Ditto : elle est venu, elle a vu, elle a vaincu. Dans un monde où l’apparence et la taille font tout, elle a cassé le moule de la musique et de la mode avec sa fabuleuse attitude ambivalente vis-à-vis de la perception de la beauté par la société.

Mary Beth Patterson naquit le 19 février 1981 en Arkansas dans une famille assez pauvre; elle raconta à NME Magazine que pendant son enfance il arrivait à sa famille de se nourrir d’écureuils.

Beth forma Gossip en 1999, et sept ans plus tard le groupe perça avec “Standing in the Way of Control”, qui atteint le statut or au Royaume-Uni.  Ils se produisirent à deux reprises à Glastonbury dans des salles pleines à craquer et décrochèrent un contrat avec le renommé Sony Music Group.

Le monde de la mode est réputé dur pour les personnes de taille XXL, mais le charme austral de Beth et son style théâtral lui valut l’attention de la légende de Chanel, Karl Lagerfeld, et un siège à son défilé automne-hiver 2009-2010 à la  Fashion Week parisienne.

La même année elle s’empara du podium de la flamboyante House of Blue Eyes pour leur première collection pendant la Fashion Week londonienne. Le spectacle accueillit également Kate Moss, qui est une amie de Beth.

La légitimité de Beth dans le monde de la mode ne fit que s’accroître avec le temps; elle travailla plus récemment avec Jean-Paul Gaultier en tant que mannequin pendant la Fashion Week parisienne et lança une ligne de maquillage avec la marque de cosmétiques MAC, se reposant sur son look avant-garde et son esprit facétieux, donnant naissance à des noms tels que “greasepaint” (peinture cambouis) pour son eye-liner épais emblématique. En 2009, Beth lança sa collection pour Evans avec une soirée dans le bar Sketch à Londres, s’inspirant de ses vives couleurs punk rock.

Le maquillage de Beth Ditto la représente bien : un mélange de théâtral et de simplicité; elle combine un Boy George avec Marilyn Monroe, qui d’ailleurs font part de ses sources d’inspiration. Son eye-liner noir épais lui attira de façon spectaculaire les faveurs des esprits alternatifs, et des foules d’adolescents prirent la reine de beauté XXL comme modèle. Les couvertures de magazine, telles que celle du premier LOVE, où elle apparaît nue avec son teint de porcelaine, la montrent exubérante et nature, un véritable retournement de situation dans le monde de la mode.

Le style de Beth a quelque peu évolué au cours des années, mais elle a toujours gardé son esprit décalé, choisissant des tenues moulantes, souvent en lycra dans des couleurs audacieuses, qui font contraste avec son teint laiteux et sa couleur de cheveux. Elle dit un jour “Même si l’étiquette dit que c’est deux tailles trop petit, souvenez-vous : plus c’est serré, mieux c’est!”. Elle a également un penchant pour les vêtements créateur; on la vit porter une robe Alexander McQueen sur mesure en 2008, et une robe Hervé Léger au défilé automne-hiver de Stella McCartney en 2009.

Quant à son groupe, ils sortirent leur quatrième album, Music for Men en 2009 et le tube “Heavy Cross” qui fut très populaire en Europe et fut utilisé pour la campagne publicitaire du parfum Dior “J’adore” avec Charlize Theron, Marilyn Monroe, Grace Kelly et Marlene Dietrich. Leur 5ème album, intitulé Joyful Noise sortit le 22 mai 2012.

Beth Ditto, une fille du vieux Sud qui devint une figure majeure aux yeux d’une génération. Pour les adolescents, son attitude féministe et son anticonformisme vis-à-vis du look des musiciens grand public firent d’elle une rebelle contemporaine, sans même qu’elle ait à essayer.

Tobias Orrells

Ecrit par Tobias Orrells

Tobias Orrells graduated from Liverpool John Moores University with a degree in International Journalism, however, steering away from news, has focused his creativity to reporting on the progression of men’s fashion. He is an avid writer and lover of fashion and music and combining the two helps create the icon profiles. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Beth Ditto

Copyright © AFP / Ekaterina Chesnokova / Ria Novosti – Beth Ditto

Beth Ditto, she came, she conquered. In a world where appearance and size is everything, she broke the music and fashion mold with her fabulously ambivalent attitude to the perception of beauty within society.
Mary Beth Patterson was born on the 19th of February 1981 in Arkansas and had a relatively poor upbringing, telling NME Magazine that during her childhood the family would eat Squirrels.

Beth formed Gossip in 1999 and after 7 years they got their break with ‘Standing in the Way of Control,’ which reached Gold status in the UK. The band closed Glastonbury twice on different stages and moved up the record ladder by signing with the respected Sony Music Group.

The fashion world can be seen to many as a harsh place for people of a plus size, but the southern charm of Beth and dramatic styling brought her the attention of Chanel legend, Karl Largerfeld and was seen seated at his AW 2009 show at Paris Fashion Week.

That same year she took to the runway for House of Blue Eyes at London Fashion Week, the first collection for the flamboyant fashion house. The show also featured Kate Moss, who is a friend of Beth’s.

Beth’s legitimacy in fashion has only increased as time has gone on, more recently working with Jean Paul Gaultier by modelling for his Paris Fashion Week show and launching a makeup collection with MAC Cosmetics utilising her playfulness and avant-garde look with names such as ‘greasepaint’for her signature heavy eyeliner. In 2009, Beth launched her Evans Collection at Sketch in London using her staple bright punk rock colours as inspiration.

Her make-up encompasses what Beth Ditto is about. A mixture of dramatics and simplicity she incorporates Boy George and Marilyn Monroe, who also happen to be inspirations of hers. Her dark heavy eye liner has shadowed Beth spectacularly with the alternative crowd, with teenagers looking up to the plus size beauty queen. Covering Magazines such as the first ever issue of LOVE, milk-skinned, nude showed her as uninhibited and real, a game changer in the world of fashion.

Beth’s style has somewhat evolved over the years however she has always kept a sense of playfulness, choosing to wear body hugging outfits such as lycra in bold colours that contrast her milky white skin and usually striking hair colour. She once said: “Even if the tag says it’s two sizes too small , remember: the tighter the better.” She has a penchant for designers too; wearing a custom made Alexander McQueen dress in 2008 and a Herve Leger bodycon dress at Stella McCartney’s AW 2009 show.

As for her band, in 2009 saw the release of their fourth studio album, ‘Music for Men’ and realised the single, ‘Heavy Cross’, which became popular in Europe and featured in the 2011 Christian Dior, J’Adore Perfume with Charlize Theron, Marilyn Monroe, Grace Kelly and Marlene Dietrich. Their 5th studio album was realised on the 22nd of May 2012 titled a Joyful Noise.

Beth Ditto, a girl from the Deep South who became a major player in the eyes of a generation. For teenagers, her feminist attitude and nonconformity to the mainstream look of musicians kept her edgy and current without even trying.

Tobias Orrells

Written by Tobias Orrells

Tobias Orrells graduated from Liverpool John Moores University with a degree in International Journalism, however, steering away from news, has focused his creativity to reporting on the progression of men’s fashion. He is an avid writer and lover of fashion and music and combining the two helps create the icon profiles. Looking after the Catwalk Yourself Icons biographies


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>